Pronunciation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I wouldn't have thought there was more that one way to pronounce wort. My question is a reasonable one.

StewJo said:
I wouldn't have thought there was more that one way to pronounce wort. My question is a reasonable one.

Lighten up, Francis. No one said it was unreasonable. I just found it puzzling.

So, really, I'm curious: is there more than one way to pronounce "rack?" Did you hear or read something to make you suspect there might be?

StewJo said:
Yeah, lighten up stewie. ;) I'm a little puzzled by the "rack" question too...but just to be sure, it rhymes with sack.

"it rhymes with sack."

Four word answer, thanks!

I did hear someone pronounce it "rake" as in "rake the leaves" but as a newbie, I didn't have the confidence to correct him.

StewJo said:
I did hear someone pronounce it "rake" as in "rake the leaves" but as a newbie, I didn't have the confidence to correct him.

Maybe the individual had a speech impediment......

My guy at the HBS I buy from pronounces wort as "vert". I've always head it pronounced as "wert". Isn't dat vierd?

I've only heard rack pronounced like "slack"

EDIT - OK, OK it rhymes with "slack". Happy? :cross:

I suppose a true Southerner might pronounce "rack" as a two syllable word...

"Ray - ack"

I've always said you can tell everything you need to know about a Christian's theology by the number of syllables when they say the name "Jesus."

StewJo said:

English spelling rules: the 'ck' before a vowel means that the vowel is short. So 'rack' will never be anything other than 'rack' with the 'a' as in 'apple'.

I've heard wort as 'wert' and 'wort' (rhymes with 'wart'). Not sure which one and the spelling rules don't help for this one. ;)

ian said: