Brute trashcan for Apfelwein fermenter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr. Nice Guy

Reaction score
Has anybody used a Rubbermaid Brute food grade trash can to make Apfelwein? Pros and Cons? Is oxidation a problem? No airlock a problem? Time?I am new to brewing and have 3 glass 5 gal carboys, a 1 gal glass carboy and a 7 gallon plastic bucket primary from AHB, but they are not enough! Could I make a 15 gal batch of Apfelwein to satisfy my insane brewing urges? I still plan on buying more glass but the big batch idea is appealing. Thanks in advance and Sorry to Ed Wort because I consider brewing such fine stuff in a low end home, lol...

It will work but the lid is not air tight so if you have any fruit flys in the area they will find their way in.

Bag and tape a giant garbage bag over the lid and just tape big hose in the bag to vent the c02.

If nothing else it will be a ghetto worthy photo to post!

You know you guys are starting to talk me into this... I wasn't sure at first, but I mean crap man it will be like a big muffin of co2 and wine.

I'm all for this as long as it's documented.

I wonder how you could create an airtight seal without using a trash can, hmm.

Right now I'm thinking non-airtight. Don't they do open fermentation for wine anyways? I see these trashcans on wine sites for use as primaries. I am more wonndering if I will develop any off tastes or have any infection issues from such a "long" fermentation.

Of course I'll document it, pics of the trashcan and all, lol. :)

Get ready for 15 gallons of 'rhino farts' during fermentation. I hope it's not in an enclosed space and you have good air circulation. Trust the threads about the smells.