Sweet Stout Yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emjay

Reaction score
I'm going to be making a chocolate sweet/milk stout and am wondering what an ideal yeast might be. I'm not a huge fan of dry stouts, and I don't know if it matters, but I'll be using a good amount of lactose.

I have a vial of White Labs Burton Ale yeast, but don't mind using something else if it means better beer. :)

I'm not an expert in the style, but I looked at Brewing Classic Styles and Jamil recommends WLP006 Bedford British yeast.

The Burton Ale yeast has a slightly higher attenuation than 006, so you might want to go with the 006 to provide a little more residual sweetness. The Burton Ale yeast doesn't sound too far off though, so you could probably get a good sweet stout from it by modifying the recipe slightly.

Just checked the White Labs site because I couldn't find it on my LHBS site, and it says that Bedford (006) attenuates 3-5% higher than Burton (023) actually.

Either way, I drove myself nuts looking for it on my LHBS website until I realized it was a seasonal "platinum edition." Seasonal for July/August supposedly, so even if they had it in stock I'm not so sure I'd buy yeast that old. Thanks a lot, but I'm going to look at other yeast profiles as I'm still not sure if I'm going to settle on Burton.

I typically use WLP004 for my sweet stouts, I brew a chocolate orange stout that many like and it usually ends with a 1.022 - 1.028 FG depending on what I decide I want the OG to be (1.069 - 1.079) including 1lb of lactose.