Bock Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ichthy

Reaction score
Hey guys

Does anyone have a partial mash Bock recipe. I tried the database without much luck. Also, I'm a newbie, so something relatively simple would be great.

Thanks in advance

I found the following recipe on another brewing board (with the caveat that the numbers are a little weird because of quantities the brewer already had on hand), which supposedly came from BYOB:

2 lb, 10 oz Munich Malt
1 lb Cara-Munich
3.25 oz Chocolate Malt
0.75 oz Black Patent Malt

Mashed in 5 qts at 153 F for 45 minutes, then batch sparged.

After the mash:

6 lbs Extra Light DME

0.5 oz Hallertauer (4.0%) 60 min
0.5 oz Hallertauer (4.0%) 30 min
0.5 oz Spalt (4.5%) 15 min

Yeast Starter (White Labs German Lager Yeast) made with 1 lb Wheat DME in 2 qts water.

OG was ~1.066.​

Personally, I would jack up the mash temp to 156 to make up for the thinness of the DME, and I'd ditch the black patent for Carafa III (dehusked), but otherwise it seems like a good place to start.

Thanks a bunch! I've never lagered before, so I need a little additional advice. Do you have an idea for a fermentation schedule (i.e., what temperatures and how long)? Could i just make a cain sugar yeast starter?