Bugs growing on oak

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bokonon

Reaction score
I'm just getting into brewing some sour beers. I've been trying to dig through as much info as possible and I've got a question I haven't found an answer to yet, so maybe someone here knows.

I know brettanomyces will take up residence in oak, but what about the other bugs? Will pediococcus or lactobacillus survive in there?

What about regular saccharomyces? This one I should be able to figure out myself since I have a keg with an IPA and some oak cubes in it. Once I pull it off the oak I'm going to do some experiments with the cubes

As far as I know, brettanomyces will readily take up residence in porous surfaces. Not too sure about pedio or lacto. Probably to an extent.

Saccharomyces will not. If it was that easy, there wouldnt be a single "my beer hasn't started fermenting" thread.

If you haven't already done so, check out the Brew Strong episode on wood aging. They talk some about using oak barrels, and cubes to capture souring strains.

I do believe that is the way that Vinnie from Russian River does it:

Mad Fermentationist said:
"The oak chips were used in Batch 23 Damnation, which was a beer that we made to celebrate the 23rd bottling of Damnation. After the oak chips were removed from the Batch 23 Damnation (no bugs or critters in the beer), I soaked them in four strains of Brett, as well as Lacto & Pedio and our house "wild" culture. They stayed soaking for 3 or 4 weeks before I removed them and dried sun dried them on the roof of our building. From there I bagged them up."
- Vinnie

from The Mad Fermentationist: Russian River's Bugs and Critters