bean or extract?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raffie

Reaction score
I been couriuos about trying Valilla in beer.
Whats the best and why? Vanilla Bean or Extract?

Go with the actual pod. Slice it open and scrape the seeds, then drop the whole thing in. Secondary would probably be ideal, but then again I've never used it in beer before. I've done the extract before and it just adds almost too floral of notes, but ages really well. I would assume more vanillians and less floral from the actual pod.

I've never used vanilla in beer but in cooking the pods are much better. Much more complex flavor. Look online I was able to get 7 pods for the price I'd pay for one in the local grocery store.

I have only used vanilla once, in my beer, and the recipe called for the whole bean, scraped.

BTW, an important lesson learned...whole bean is EXPENSIVE ! Look for it at your local healh food store instead of the grocey store. The day after I brewed my Saison, with the vanilla bean, I saw organic bean for half the price !

Anyone have links to beer that uses vanilla so I can see how much and when to add it?

If you use extract, get the stuff made from real vanilla. If you use the whole bean, you can make some of your own extract (i.e., infuse a small amount of vodka or grain alcohol).

I have very little experience with vanilla in beer, but I can tell you this: A little tends to go a long way.

TL

If you use extract, get the stuff made from real vanilla. If you use the whole bean, you can make some of your own extract (i.e., infuse a small amount of vodka or grain alcohol).

I have very little experience with vanilla in beer, but I can tell you this: A little tends to go a long way.

TL