Weizenbock

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeadYetiBrew

Reaction score
I've never done a real wheat beer before but I love 'em. I was thinking this for a recipe. (Mini-Mash)

1.50 lbs Munich Malt
1.50 lbs Vienna Malt
0.50 lbs Biscuit Malt
1.00 lbs Crystal 40L
6.00 lbs Wheat DME
----------------------------
1.50 oz Hallertauer Pellets at 60 mins
----------------------------

Not sure on a yeast strain yet. My HBS only carries WYeast.

ProMash tells me it'll hit a SG of 1.080, around 25.7 IBU's.

So I have a couple questions.

Do my %'s look ok, i've never used Munich, Vienna, or Biscuit?

What yeast would be the best. I would like the WYeast 3333, however since you never know what yeast will be in stock i'd like to have a couple backups.
I was thinking 3068 as a backup, i wanted to keep it German Wheat, because i like the profiles but i'd settle for one of the Bavarians which one would be the better backup?

Munich, Vienna and Biscuit need to be mashed. I would maybe leave out some of the crystal and add some 2-row in the mini-mash to add some enzymes. Munich and Vienna can convert themselves, but don't really have enought enxymes to convert other grain.

It'll be a small mash since i don't have the necessary equipment for a big mash, do you think i could get away with mashing in about 2 gallons of water and sparge with 1 gallon?

So get rid of the Crystal and add some 2-row? how much would you recommend?

The mash water is fine. I'd sparge with about 2 gallons also. You're going to lose some water to the grain.