Forgot to add Yeast Nutrient...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dunnright00

Reaction score
...can I add it to the primary? Should I bother?

I've never used it before, but the instructions say to add at the last 10 minutes of boil.

Should I just save it for next time?

last 10 minutes of boil makes me think you are talking about Irish Moss. A clarifier.

If that is in fact what you didnt use, Dont sweat it. More times than not, I forget it.
Just takes a little bit longer for the beer to get clear.

Nope. I remembered the moss.

This is Wyeast Beer Nutrient Blend.
Now that I look at it, it doesn't say "Yeast" nutrient anywhere, but it's made by Wyeast...

I would not worry about it for this batch. I'm sure it will be fine. Lots of people don't use any yeast nutrients and do OK.

Just remember next time.

Some people never add nutrient, and they still make beer. Some people add it to the starter, but not to the boil. It will help keep the yeast in top form, and possibly prevent a 1.020 stuck ferment, but isn't absolutely necessary. Just save it for the next batch.

What kind of yeast did you use? Dry or liquid?
If liquid did you make a starter?

Reason i ask, If you had a dry packet you will be fine unless you made a big beer. Then the extra goodies would have helped out.

If this is just a normal beer ya made, Adding the nutrient will help the fermintation, And even get you a lower FG.

Now that ya allready have it in the carboy, I am guessing you are to late.

Personaly, I have never used it. When i make my barleywine i was thinking about getting some to give it a try.