Next steps?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

venquessa

Reaction score
So with batch 4 in the FV I need a 'next' recipe.

Done the kit and the kilo, tiwce.
Done the 'add some DME'.
Done the 'add some DME, grain, hops' - no sugar.

So, I'm thinking the next one is a 'no kit can' brew.

Do you think I should go for a mostly extract + 2 grains + 2 hops? All grain might be a little too big a step and I can only do a 2.5gl boil.

Bro - you're moving right along. Steep some grain for 30 min, and then a 60 min boil using DME and a couple of hops additions @ 60 and 20 minutes. Play with it and see what you get.

I've been brewing for 20+ years and still use tinned, hopped LME as a base for my brews. But I'll also put together a recipe now and then to see if it'll work (but I do have a 20L brew pot).

Cheers!

I still use cooper's cans with various plain DME's,various hops. Even different combos of cooper's cans with DME & hops. So many combinations. I've steeped grains & am looking at partial mash in my 20qt,5 gallon SS BK. Maybe look at partial mash?...:mug:

My near term goal is an all grain Irish (Red) Ale.

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f65/caffreys-irish-ale-clone-200961/

Caffery's, but I don't think I'm quite ready to do the above yet. So, can anyone propose a recipe for an Irish-like red ale, without a kit tin.

I'm thinking light ale, golden/reddish color, malty, caramel, smooth taste.