Kegging 101... anyone?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billc68

Reaction score
Ok, I have been toying with the idea of kegging for awhile and a friend just offered me his equipment. He used to keg and claims to have about 5-10 coca-cola kegs, regulator, tap etc, everything except the CO2 tank and a fridge.

So, how do I know the equipment is still good? Another person told me the kegs will expire.

And secondly, for a complete noob, what do I do?

And thirdly, pros and cons of filtering and how to?

There is probably already a thread that covers all of this, if so, just point me in the right direction.

Ok, I have been toying with the idea of kegging for awhile and a friend just offered me his equipment. He used to keg and claims to have about 5-10 coca-cola kegs, regulator, tap etc, everything except the CO2 tank and a fridge.

So, how do I know the equipment is still good? Another person told me the kegs will expire.

And secondly, for a complete noob, what do I do?

And thirdly, pros and cons of filtering and how to?

There is probably already a thread that covers all of this, if so, just point me in the right direction.

1) The kegs themselves are good as long as they hold pressure. You'll probably need to replace all the O-Rings and lube them up with keg-lube (which is easy and costs just a few bucks), but that's usually it. CO2 canisters expire after five years or so, but they can usually be exchanged or re-certified for fairly cheap.

2) http://www.northernbrewer.com/documentation/Kegging.pdf