Second Attempt at Hard Cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yet41

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm planning on making my second batch of hard cider in the coming days. I'm fairly new to brewing and cider making in general, as I've only made a few batches, so I don't know very much about what I'm doing yet!

Anyway, the first batch of cider I made turned out very well! At least, for a while. For the first few weeks after I had bottled the cider, it was everything I had hoped it would be. But after 2 or 3 weeks, the carbonation had increased dramatically.

Here's a rough idea of the ingredients I used:

Apple Juice (3 gals)
1 Cinnamon Stick
1 Cup Brown Sugar
1/2 Cup of Honey
Champagne Yeast
1/2 Cup Priming Sugar

I kept it in the primary fermenter for about 2 weeks, the secondary fermenter for about a week, and then I let it bottle condition for about a week (I used regular 12 oz beer bottles).

With all that being said, for my second batch, I wanted to try something similar but with a few differences, and that is what I want to ask you guys about!

1) I really don't want it to keep carbonating like the first batch I made. How can I prevent this? Should I let it ferment longer (maybe a month)? Should I use less priming sugar? I do want it to have some carbonation, but the first batch had way too much.

A friend of mine had heard something about people setting the filled bottles in water that was around 130-150 degrees a few weeks after bottling to kill any remaining yeast. Is this something that works to prevent over carbonation? I couldn't find anything about that online, so it might be total BS.