The five things old homebrew me would pass to new homebrew me:

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blackfoot26

Reaction score
I love extract brewing and I am convinced that extract can compete in most categories with all grain. I've been brewing for a couple of years, and these are the five biggest lessons I have learned. I hope others will add to it.

1: Ditch plastic fermenters as quickly as possible.

2: Scour eBay for deals on temperature controllers and refractometers.

3: Ales are much more forgiving (as evidenced by my abortion of an altbier).

4: Clean your gear as soon as you are done using it. (Scraping 36 hour old hop sludge off an immersion chiller is less than fun)

5: Everything you can think of has been done before, as a new brewer. Research before you pull the trigger.

6: Just drop the coin on a brew stand right out of the gate (if you approach homebrewing on the cheap you'll spend twice as much for three times the hassle).

Why ditch plastic fermenters? Are you talking about the ale pales (which many vets still swear by) and/or better bottles (which I am a huge fan of)? Looking forward to hearing your reasons for the items on the list.

Why ditch plastic fermenters? Are you talking about the ale pales (which many vets still swear by) and/or better bottles (which I am a huge fan of)? Looking forward to hearing your reasons for the items on the list.

Nothing wrong with plastic fermenters. Ask anybody that has broke glass one and gets injured has story to tell and it isnt pretty. I take my chances with good old plastic. I even bottle in p.e.t plastic bottles with screw on caps i got tired of snapping necks off glass bottles and getting cut. Just not worth it.