Im a newbie, i got a few questions...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zodiak3000

Reaction score
whats up everybody, i just got a few basic brew questions i hope some of you guys can help with..

* What is a good all around any beer LME? Would a basic Muntons light malt extract be sutible for say an ale or IPA, or is it general for a lager?

*Is it necessary to do a two-stage fermentation? how long will my beer take to be ready if i leave it in the original fermentation bucket?

*What do you guys think about brew kits? Like Coopers or something. Anybody achieve a good beer from these? It looks like the have hopped LME already so im curious how the quality comes out with added sugar and pre-hopped LME in the recipe. Does anybody add sugar when you already have grains and an unhopped LME or DME?

So im just gathering info before i buy my ingredients. This will be my first batch, so im skeptical to buying a Coopers kit or all the good quality grains, hops, and yeast. Any other feedback for a newbie is appreaciated. I got all my equipment, researched, and watched alot of youtube's on brewing. Also, if anybody has a good Ale recipe for beginners that would be cool. Thanks...:mug:

1. can't comment don't generally buy it.
2. You only get 2 stage fermentation when you add more fermentables. People mistakenly call their clearing vessel a secondary fermenter.
3. You can by some okay pre hooped kits but they are not the cheaper ones. Sugar should not be used for a cheap replacement for malt if you want a good beer.
4. The recipe depends on what beer you want to make and what you like. I have a couple of my AG recipes converted to extract. They seem to go down well. There are plenty of good recipes in the drop down box under members names.

zodiak,