Questions on Wyeast, and fermentation temp

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eye8oneu812

Reaction score
Hi everybody,
I'm working with Wyeast, and I have a London Ale strain pitched in a porter, and a Bavarian Wheat strain in a wheat beer. I didn't notice either one have an extremely vigorous fermentation (though they did bubble for the first 3 days or so rather vigorously, to the tune of a bubble every 4 seconds or more often). The krausen was maybe an inch thick. I did make a yeast starter and pitched it from that.
I only worry because I'm new to homebrewing, and I've seen videos of some really, really energetic fermentations. They are in my basement, and the temperature is 61 degrees, a little warmer at times. The yeast is supposed to be between 65-75 degrees, but I don't really have space to get them warmer. Should I worry, or am I just being paranoid?
Thanks!

I wouldn't worry. If your temps are at the lower end of the yeast's temperature range, your fermentation could be slower. I would make sure you give your beer plenty of time to finish and don't rush it. Keeping your temps in the 60's will give you a cleaner beer also.

I am currently brewing with temps of about 59-61 in my basement. I did an IPA with wyeast British Ale yeast and right now have a altbier happily fermenting away that used Wyeast 1007 German Ale Yeast. The IPA took about 48 hours to get going, but once it got going it fermented well. It took about a week to finish. The altbier took off right away (as it should have, since I used 9 lbs. of extract). It is still going over a week and a half later.

Generally your ferments in cold weather will be slower, longer, but result in nice clean beer.

You may want to try a kolsch next, or even a lager.