New and want to get started

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beertender

Reaction score
I am new to this and want to get started.

Where are the best sites to by a "good" starter kit?
What do I need to start?
What type of beer should I start with?
How long does the process take from boil, to a summer day with home made beer and home made BBQ straight from the smoker?

Please help

You can try Homebrew School. My brother and I started it up. Sign up and let us know if you need any help.

I am new to this and want to get started.

Where are the best sites to by a "good" starter kit?
You can start by finding your local homebrew supply shop and there are plenty of online places. Just get a kit that has a bucket and a carboy (plastic or glass depends on your budget). This way you can figure out what you like most.
What do I need to start?
Start by reading How to Brew by John Palmer
What type of beer should I start with?
Start with an ale that you know you already like.
How long does the process take from boil, to a summer day with home made beer and home made BBQ straight from the smoker?
3 week fermentation, 3 weeks in the bottle is minimum. Some beers take longer, and even those that don't get better with age. There is no need to rush any part of this.

The absolute best thing to know is:
Relax, Don't Worry, Have a Homebrew

And utilize the search function around here.

Go to the phone book or internet and find a home brew store near you. It helps to talk to a real person.

what you need to start would be a BIG brew kettle something that holds at least 3-4 gallons.
a fermenter: glass carboy, plastic bucket, or better bottle, all are good, clear things are more fun to watch your first time. 5 gallon is big enough, 6 and 6.5 gallon are more conveinent.