Winter Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wood173

Reaction score
I live in the sometimes artic of Northern Illinois and my house is normally about 60 degrees. My question is whether the less than ideal temperture will affect my brews? The fermentation seems pretty normal, but I'm a little new to all this and wondered if I'm better off finding a way to bring up the temperature a few notches to help the yeast. Likewise, the beer ages in the basement around 58-60 degrees. Anybody think that will be a problem too?

By the way, I haven't posted yet, but reading everybody else's questions has helped a lot. Thanks a lot.

A lot depends on the yeast strain. Most of them will work at that temp but some will be slower than others. It has also been my experience that highly flocculate yeast tend to drop out early when it's cool leaving a high finished gravity.

you should be perfect. About the only problem you can get from low temps is stalled or slow ferments. If your beer looks like it's fermenting fine you probably are and getting a nice clean ferment too boot. If it looks like you might be stalled put a towel around your fermenters and warm them up a touch or try a small heating pad to do the same thing

I live in N. Illinois and my basement is around the same temps. After a day or two of fermentation I will shake the carboy a little to help the yeast kick back in if it has slowed at all. A 60 degree fermentation is a great temp and doesn't leave you with alot of off flavors.

I live in northern WI and I keep my house around 62. I get pour fermentation. I moved my beer to a closet with a space heater to 70. It works out way better and more control on the profile the yeast gives.