interested in kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pivot

Reaction score
hey guys, Im really new to homebrewing (have my second batch in secondary right now) but am getting really interesting in kegging and think it would be cool to have my own home made beer available on tap in my apartment.

However, I feel like this might be insanely expensive to get started. All I have is my brewing equipment and a mini fridge that could be converted into a kegerator. Im just wondering if someone could give me a ball park cost as to how much I would be in the hole once I had a full keg system set up?

I just bought this set up and found it to be a great deal.

Brew Logic Dual Tap Draft System- with Reconditioned CO2 Tank :: Midwest Supplies Homebrewing and Winemaking Supplies

With shipping it was about $220.

The kit just comes with the picnic taps and if you want to either mount faucets or a draft tower, that would be more. Faucets are the cheaper route, but the draft towers look nicer. Its hard to give a price range for these because there are so many options, but just search for faucets, shanks, and draft towers to get an idea on what you will need/want.

Also, you may want to get a temp controller for the kegerator too. Its not necessary, but its nice to keep your beer at the temeperature you want. Personally I keep mine in the mid to upper 40s. A temp controller can run from $50 to $100, depending on what features you want and if its prewired.

Also make sure your mini fridge will fit 5 gallon corny kegs. It is keg height plus an inch or two for the connectors. Most mini fridges are a few inches short due to a freezer compartment.