Comments on Vienna/Centennial SMaSH

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Now that I'm finally getting my processes down, I thought it'd be a good time to get to know a little about all the different grains and hop options I have.

This is my first attempt at this, so be gentle! :)

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - BeerSmith Brewing Software, Recipes, Blog, Wiki and Discussion Forum
Recipe: Vienna SMaSH
Brewer: Chad
Asst Brewer:
Style: Altbier
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.50 gal
Boil Size: 7.39 gal
Estimated OG: 1.049 SG
Estimated Color: 5.3 SRM
Estimated IBU: 39.4 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
10.00 lb Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) Grain 100.00 %
1.00 oz Centennial [10.00 %] (60 min) Hops 33.3 IBU
0.50 oz Centennial [10.00 %] (10 min) Hops 6.0 IBU
0.50 oz Centennial [10.00 %] (0 min) Hops -

Mash Schedule: My Mash
Total Grain Weight: 10.00 lb
----------------------------
Single infusion at 154F. (would you go higher/lower?)

depends on what youre looking for. if you want malty, go with 154-158. if you want light and alcoholic, go 146-152. id probably do about 150-152 as a nice compromise. as far as hops, you might be a bit on the hoppy side for this brew. if your og is 049 assuming efficiency at 75, and you attenuate to .012 or so, 40 ibu is pretty rough for a beer thats sub-5% abv. unless you like em hoppy, i would cut your 60 min add to .75 oz, and then add .25 oz at 30 min. then dryhop with 1 oz. that should get you around 20-25 ibu and get a nice rounded flavor. other than that, sounds good. your hop selection and malt selection work well together. and it should be easy and refreshing to drink. cheers!