Austin Homebrew Supplies 1% alcohol boost

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Poker Nut

Reaction score
I am new to home brewing and had a question about Austin Homebrew Supplies offer for $1.99 to add a 1% alcohol boost in their beer recipe kits. They claim it will not affect flavor. Anybody know what it is they add? I am guessing it is a sugar, but does anybody know for sure?

Thanks

Okay, I am a single female about 22 with a killer rack and nice A@#. I love to homebrew and also love football. Iam desperatly seeking a boyfriend with similar interests.

Is there anything else you would like to know? :p

Poker Nut said:
Okay, I am a single female about 22 with a killer rack and nice A@#. I love to homebrew and also love football. Iam desperatly seeking a boyfriend with similar interests.

Is there anything else you would like to know? :p

AND a poker nut! zomg, i'm in love!

As Dude said, it is corn sugar.

looks like it's time to remind you guys who that hot chick on the other side of the mintor is again . . . .

2086-guy.jpg

Nothing personal PokerNut

yeah it's probably just a bit of corn surgar. Personally i;d just ad a bit more malt extract (thats just me), it will do the same thing

Don't waste your money. Austin Homebrew sells a opund of corn sugar for $1.50, IIRC. I have a VERY strong suspicion that it's the same as the alcohol boost for $2.00.

In other words, I think it's just a way of giving something a fancy name and marking up the price by $0.50.