Kegging into Mini-Kegs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jester4176

Reaction score
Before someone mentions it...because I'm a n00b to this forum...I did a search for my questions before asking them. :) I am new to the homebrew kegging scene, but have all the equipment I need from my old kegerator in college. I no longer have the kegerator, so I don't have a space for the soda kegs. Tried arguing the wife for a new kegerator, but I lost.... So I'm looking at the mini-kegs because they'll fit in the kitchen fridge. I have been reading about using these, and see more negative feedback than positive on them.

I came across another thread that has this listed:
Filling the Mini Keg with finished beer.

If you would like to fill the mini keg with a finished beer from a larger keg. Follow these steps.

1) Pre-chill the mini keg to the same or colder temperature than the beer temperature.

2) Raise the Co2 volume of the beer being transferred. If the beer is in a five gallon keg, raise the Pressure by 10 psi. and shake the keg three to four times for 24 hours to introduce a higher C02 volume.

3) After the beer has acquired a higher volume of Co2. lower the pressure to 2 psi. Transfer the beer into the mini keg by filling the pre-chilled keg from the bottom up. Insert the bung and refrigerate.

By over carbonating the beer before it goes into the mini keg you compensate for the lose during the filling. With the mini keg cold the beer retains more of the Co2 by not getting hot and evaporation the Co2.