Konig Pilsner?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pappers_

Moderator Emeritus
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to brewing lagers and would like to try a beer that is similar in style to a Konig Pils - beautiful malt flavor, really outstanding. I took a stroll through the recipe database but thought I would also ask for some help in pointing me to a recipe that would be in the Konig Pils style of pilsner. For example, would a 50/50 mix of Munich and Pilsner malts be appropriate for this?

FYI, went to the Konig site and it was of no help. Told me that they use malt, yeast and hops. :)

Thanks for any advice, links and thoughts.

Pilsner is just that. Leave out the Munich malt. I remember having Konig Pils on tap and it struck me how thick the head was. I might sneak in some flaked barley, maybe 5%. While not Reinheitsgebot flaked barley is a good sub for chit malt and it does a nice job making a thick, creamy head. Without specific info on the hops you could go with a blend of German noble varieties or pick your favorite.

9.5 lbs German Pils malt
.5 lb flaked barley

1 oz Hallertau Hersbrucker @ 60 min
1.5 oz Spalt @ 20 min
.5 oz Spalt @ 5 min

WLP830 German Lager yeast or your favorite

Est OG 1.050, IBU 36

Thanks for the link. It shows the grain bill to be 100% pilsner - I suspect that malt-heavy pilsners like Konig use Munich or Vienna, but don't know (hence this thread). Have you tried this recipe? Again, thanks for the link?

Thanks Ed. So, if the grain bill is only Pils, do the brewers of malty versions of Pilsners rely on higher mash temps to accentuate the malt flavors? Or?

Also, I would not have thought Konig had 34 IBU. Does that seem right?