Ideas and Suggestions for a Summer Beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewsterk2

Reaction score
As summer approaches, I will begin to ready myself for a batch of something light and session worthy. Normally you would insert a standard lager or pilsner recipe, but unfortunately, there's a 95% chance I would not be able to ferment my beer at the necessary temperature (around 55 F).

What can you guys suggest for a summer brew that I could ferment at ale temperatures?

Or, maybe there's a super cool way to lager a beer in an improvised cold storage facility? I was thinking about claiming a section of my fridge, buuuuut as I've never done a lager before, I'm afraid my food might take on some of the flavors expelled by the fermenter.

Any and all information is appreciated. Thanks.

The obvious suggestion here is a pale ale. They are simple to make and you can ferment them at ale temps. I personally prefer a wheat beer for those warmer months and since I live in the desert and can't afford fridge space I sometimes do a Saison which can ferment at 80-85 degrees depending on your yeast.

My favorites for summer are.
Lemongrass Wheat
Sam Summer Clone from AHS
Strawberry/Blueberry Blonde

Throw in a few standard Pale Ales or American Ales to have while the baseball game is on.

I've wanted to try my hand at a Kolsch ever since I hard Harpoon Summer last year. From what I've read those can be tricky.