European bock

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mainecanoe

Reaction score
I've read the wiki info, but still unsure. I brewed Brewer's Best Euro Bock and the FG was supposed to be 1.014-1.018.

I measured it a week ago and it was at 1.030. I measured it again a week later and it's at 1.030. On top of this, the brew has been in my primary now for 4 weeks as of today.

Do I bottle it with this high gravity or pitch more yeast.

I think I might have pitched the first yeast at a higher then recommended temperature. That's because, my beginners kit did not come with a thermometer! I didn't realize until I started brewing.

I did shake up the primary about a week ago and got some air bubbles in the air lock, but it did not change the gravitiy readings in one week.

Maybe the yeast failed to complete the job?

Any suggestions would be greated appreciated.
The beer smells terrific so I'm hoping to get this in the bottles soon!!

Thanks!

1.030 is going to be a little thick and kind of cloying to drink. You can try to pitch more yeast, or just bottle and improve on your next batch. Adding more yeast at this stage of the game doesn't always work as planned as the yeast quickly get stressed from the alcohol level.

A few suggestions for better attenuation on your next batches:

1. Pitch the correct amount of yeast at the correct temperature. Getting a thermometer will certainly help with that. BTW, I don't think most kits come with a thermometer, mine didn't.
2. Aerate your wort well as the yeast need oxygen in the beginning of fermentation.