Gelatin as Fining

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Benjibbad

Reaction score
I've never used gelatin as a fining agent before. I have always used super moss or irish moss. My question is would the gelatin cause enough yeast to fall out of suspension to affect bottle carbing? Also how much gelatin should I use for a typical 5 gal batch?

I use one tablespoon for a 5 gal, I let it sit in a cup of water at room temperature for about 30 mins or so, then bring it to a boil. Pour it right into your secondary or keg and let it do its magic. Works well.

Not sure about being able to naturally carbonate afterwards--my guess would be that it won't work well unless you add some yeast. But unsure if the gelatin removes ALL of the yeast.

I've never had any problems with carbonation after using gelatin.

I just use a packet of gelatin for a 5 gallon batch. I don't heat mine to boiling but get it up around 170 or 180 and hold it there for 10-15 minutes. Then I let it cool briefly down to 140ish before gently stirring into the fermenter.

now this may be a really stupid question, but is it gelatin just like at the grocery store in the jello aisle, obviously unflavored. Or do you have to get special finings jello?

you do not want to boil it . Boiling will just make jello you don't want it to jell in the beer. 170° for 5 minutes is all thats needed. I use unflavored knox from the store and it works best in cold beer I crash then add

you do not want to boil it . Boiling will just make jello you don't want it to jell in the beer. 170° for 5 minutes is all thats needed. I use unflavored knox from the store and it works best in cold beer I crash then add