The art of perfecting your brew? When do you know it is ready for the big world?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shagington

Reaction score
I have been pondering for a great length of time, about a month now, how do breweries and home brewers a like know when they have it, that beer that is ready for the real world?

I have been brewing for almost 2 years now and I've probably brewed over 30 beers, some of those 30 being repeats of recipes to perfect them. I've researched BJCP guidelines, formulated my own recipe, compared my written recipe to hundreds of other's written recipes, reformulated my recipes, brewed the recipe, tasted the beer and compared it to other beers in that style and even sent it off to competitions.

I would love to work on perfecting one recipe, also want to brew new beers, but with the pinch on my pocket/wallet can't do so. So my question to everyone is how do you know when you have perfected a recipe to the point where one might say this is as good as the big boys? Also, if anyone works for a brewery, how does a brewery go about knowing they have a beer that will blow their brew drinkers away?

Please let me know. :confused:

I've found that tasting as many people on the beer other than yourself is key. Send them in to as many competitions as you can, and make sure you get scoresheets back. Isolated wins and losses can be completely a product of one or two weird judges, but if you average it out over a multitude of comps and have consistent success or failure, you'll be able to more objectively judge the readiness of your beer.