how effective are heat belts.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ashbyp

Reaction score
Hi -

My garden shed here in London is around 45F at the moment. Are heatbelts good enough to be able to bring a plastic fermenting bucket up to a suitable fermenting temperature from 45F ?

Thanks for any advice.

A heatbelt will raise the fermenter temp up, but it isn't recommended to be used on a continuis basis. Watch your temperture rise and only leave it on for a day at a time before letting the belt cool down. Follow the manufacturers instructions on the belt if contrary to what I said.

Yeah - I thought about doing a lager but this is my first try and I wanted to do an ale first because I hear that they are harder to screw up than lagers.

What is the best temp controlling device then, in the situation where i need to heat rather than cool.? I see heat belts and mats on the market. Is there a fermenter available with built in heater/thermostat?

I have received my heatbelt now, and in fact the instructions say to leave it switched on all the time until fermentation completes. Apparently leaving it positioned 4 inches up from the bottom of the fermenter will hold the brewing temp in the mid 60's, even though my garden shed is about 40 right now.

So, we'll see!

Cheers!

It'll probably work fine for you. In a pinch, it is a reasonable method. I have a lid with a hole in the middle just undersized from the diameter of a long stemmed thermometer (you know 1/8" or so). So if you want to keep an eye on the temp, and have a long stemmed thermometer laying around it's some food for thought. I just cover it with a piece of tape when not in use.

Just as an update, in case anyone is interested.

I tested the heatbelt over night in my shed with a 25L bin full of water.