C02 Bottle size

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cable Guy

Reaction score
How big of a co2 bottle do you guys use?? I am going to be running 4 kegs and was told by the homebrew shop that a 20lb would be the right size but from what I am reading most of you are running a 5lb or a 10lb.
How long does your bottle usually last??
I am new to this guys so I apologize if this qestion seems silly. :drunk:

I use a 5# to push and force carb 3 kegs at a time. The kegs go pretty quick, but the tank still lasts at least 4-6 months. There's no harm in going larger if the tank fits your budget and your setup, but 5# is certainly viable for most folks.

At my supply store where I bought my tank it was the same price for both a 5lb and 10lb tank. There is a difference in price of about $1.50 when refilling it, so out of economics I pretty much had to get the 10lb tank. I have a Sanyo 4910 and the 10lb tank does fit fine. I just have to tilt the regulator a bit, but all is well.

I have two 5lb tanks. One's on my 4 tap kegger, the other is for other. I have a keg of soda water that gets replaced three times a month and I still get 3-4 months from a tank. I'd rather not haul around anything bigger.

i have six tanks. a 50#, 3x20#, 10# and a 2.5# for absolute emergencies.

the 50# i expect to last for over 5 years (sorta a problem since the hydrotest is only good for 5 years...), as long as i have no leaks, since i only use it for serving (it is almost 200 lbs, so i'm not about to move it). my 20# tanks seem to go pretty fast on me now, but that is because i am very wasteful with co2, and use it for closed transfers from my fermenters to other fermenters or to kegs, as well as purging out anything i don't want oxygen in.