Formulating a Brooklyn Lager clone recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beek13

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to brewing, and was wondering if anyone could help me formulate a Brooklyn Lager clone recipe.

Here's the spec info from their website:

Malts: American Two-row malts
Hops: Hallertauer Mittelfrueh, Vanguard, and Cascade
Alcohol: 5.2% by volume
Original Gravity: 13.2 plato; 1053

http://www.brooklynbrewery.com/beer/?id=lager

I guess I'm wondering if someone has had this beer a lot can point me towards which malts, timings, which yeast, temperatures, etc.

or, is there a good book/website i could use to take this info from their website and figure it out on my own?

thanks in advance!

I'm going to follow these general guidelines:

OG:1.053
50-90% american 2-row
0-40% German vienna malt
10% adjuncts for color (cara, crystal)

Hops: 30-40 IBU
Cascade 60 min
Hallertau 30-10 min
Cascade Dry

I will post my recipe once I Promash it out. I'm tempted to put some Amarillo in the dry hop because I love that stuff, but I may not try that this time so I can lower my risk of fumbling.

OK. Here goes!

10 gallon at 1.053 OG/ SRM=12.3
2-row 11 lbs
Vienna malt 7 lbs
crystal 90 2 lbs

IBU = 37.7
1 oz Cascade 60 min
1 oz Cascade 40 min
1 oz Hallertau 25 min
1 oz Hallertau 10 min
1 oz Cascade Dry
1 oz Amarillo Dry

Yeast = German pilsner

I'll let you know next month how it is!

I just made a lower OG lager very similar to this. I was experimenting with using centinnel and cascade plus saaz as finishing. I really like the idea of a premium US lager with the characteristics of the north american hops, like cascade. I used the saaz only for aroma at the end.