Partial Mash vs. All Grain? - Quipment and procedure questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jacksonbrown

Reaction score
I've been homebrewing for only a short eight months, and have brewed ten batches so far. My first was with the Mr. Beer kit I got as a birthday gift, and that immediately propelled me to extract brewing (I used Mr. Beer only once). I've had good sucess so far with extracts, but I'm looking for more of a chalage and more control. I've been reading about partial mash and all grain brewing and I have a few questions I was hoping you nice folks can answer. (Seriously, I've been on the forum for maybe four days, and everyone's been SO helpful!).

Is there really a huge difference between the partial mash and the all grain? It seems like it requires the same equipment, and almost enitrely the same procedures, just fewer grains. Is that accurate? Will doing a few partial mashes give me a good head start into all grain, or should I just dive head-first into AG?

Burners. Sounds like electric stoves are a no-go. So propane and propane accesorries seem to be the brewers choice. That means no basement, correct? I should work in the garage, or yard? I live in Madison, WI, and we just had record snow falls this season, so the yard might be out for winter (this winter SUCKED!). Anything else I should be aware of in that regard?

Lastly, I found this on the Homebrewers Outpost. Does it seem like a good deal? What else should I anticipate purchasing to move up to grain brews? I'm not terribly handy myself so I'd be affraid of screwing up a home-made lauter tun.