Review my first shot at a recipe please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JasonTerry

Reaction score
I hope I make some sense here. I have brewed for a bit but this is my first time taking the wheel!

I am going for a lighter IPA. I am blending a few recipes.
Essentially, I am looking for some of the hops complexity of Loose Cannon with a lighter malt profile. I love the clean crispness of Dogfish head 60 but I am not a huge fan of what the hops is doing in there.

I guess my first concern would be if the hops is out of balance. Strong "bitter forward" beer doesnt work for me. Subtlety is what I would like to achieve.

I am thinking Nottingham or Pacman.
Mashed at 152.

Any and all help is much appreciated!

Ingredients:
------------
Amount
9.00 lb 2 Row
1 lb. Maris Otter
0.5 oz. German Munich
0.5 oz. Carapils

0.5 oz. AMARILLO (FWH)
1.0 oz Centennial (60 min.)
.5 oz. CENTENNIAL (30 min.)
.5 oz. AMARILLO (30 min.)

.5 oz Amarillo (10 min)
.5 oz Palisade (10 min)

.5 oz. AMARILLO (DRYHOP)
.5 oz. PALISADE (DRYHOP)

That will be a pretty low SG/high IBU brew. I come up with 1.086ish IBU/SG @ 63.2IBU and 1.058 SG.
I think that would present itself as 'hop forward' IMHO.
Throw a pound of table sugar in there (raising the SG to 1.067 and dropping IBU to 59.2) and you'd have a totally different beer at .893IBU/SG without affecting the malt profile much.

Just my $.02.

... Or... shift all of your later hop additions besides the first one 5 minutes closer to end of boil and make the last one at 2 minutes. That would have nearly the same effect as the sugar without it's addition. It'd also give ya some more/better aroma.

Replace Centennial w/ Cascade and move all the Amarillo to dry hop? Except for FWH.(40.8 IBU)