No Rinse Sanitizer Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RiversC174

Reaction score
I have used no rinse sanitizers like Easy Clean and B Brite since I started brewing (active ingredient is sodium carbonateperoxyhydrate in both I think). Its all fine that they are no rinse but they say to let air dry for 30 mins as most of the sanitizing happens during drying. But I also have a bottle of iodophor that I ordered by accident and I was reading that post about everyone's brewing secrets and I read some stuff about iodophor that sounds pretty user friendly. Someone said that they just leave all their racking equipment and thief etc. in the iodophor solution until ready to use it, just whip off most of the liquid and go ahead. Did I read correctly because that sounds much easier than what I do by letting it dry on the counter whih kills me because I just picture bacteria raining down all over my equipment during drying. Anyway, I'm working with B-Brite and iodophor right now and wanted to know if I had the procedure correct for the iodophor and if I should just use that instead of the B-Brite, it just sounds safer and easier. Also, for future reference, are there any other sanitizers out there that are easier/quicker? I think a thread should be started just on everyone's sanitation techniques (the wallpaper tray was a gem!), I've had no bacterial infections but I feel oddly masochistic during the sanitation process as I think my methods are more awkward and time consuming than they have to be. Thanks for all the help, sorry for cluttering up the board with noob questions the past couple of days but today is brew day, just fine tuning. Take it easy.

Joe

In terms of ease of use, I think Star San and iodophor are going to come out at the top of the list.