Chocolate Oatmeal Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Im somewhat new to home brewing ive done alot of homework on all aspects of brewing and just finished a 5gal batch of double chocolate espresso porter that turned out awesome! It was a kit and so is the stout that im getting ready to brew tommorow. My question is has anyone expermented with steaping in extra oats on a oatmeal stout. Im deffiently going to steap in some chocolate grain but i was reading that to much oats can turn the beer very bitter? I love bitter beers nothing like a good hoppy bitterness but thats not what i was looking for in the stout! Let me know what you guys think. Thanks

youd have to have a whole lot of oats to get an acrid flavor from them. ive used oats in excess on an oatmeal stout and it turned out fabulous. you can go overboard with anything, but oats, i think youll be fine with a touch extra.

Are you doing extract or partial mash kits?

Oats need to be mashed to extract the fermentables from them. I don't think you gain anything from just steeping them.

if you use rolled oats, which are pre-gelatanized, you can steep them. im pretty sure anyway.

If you use rolled or flaked out you don't need to do a cereal mash (cooking them beforehand), but they still need to be mashed just like all the other base grains. But pre-gelatanized or not, if you want more then just a bunch of starch they need to be mashed.

If you want to add more oats, just add some 2 row to the steeping grains also and hold it at ~154 degrees for an hour. Small partial mashes aren't all that much harder then the extract + steeping grain method.