My first pilsner - advice needed on water chemistry

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bernerbrau

Reaction score
OK. I'm finally going to brew my biscuit pilsner recipe this weekend, and I need some advice on the water profile.

I've never done water chemistry before, but my tap water isn't going to cut it for the Pilsner profile. According to my city water report, my water is way too hard for Pilsner. So if I use 100% distilled water, can I assume that my mineral PPM is effectively 0?

If so, I should be able to add .6 grams epsom salt, .2 grams non-iodized salt, .2 grams CaCl, and .4 grams chalk to 8 gallons of distilled water for my mash and sparge water for the correct mineral profile, then add 0.3 mL of lactic acid to the sparge to correct for the presence of the chalk.

That gets me 6.7ppm Ca, 2.1ppm Mg, 2.1ppm Na, 8.2ppm SO4, 5.8ppm Cl, and 16ppm HCO3. The target numbers respectively are 7, 2, 2, 8, 6, and 16. My calculations (Bru'n water) say that this, plus my grain bill, will give me a mash acidity of 5.4 and a sparge acidity of 5.8.

I'm skeptical of my pH calculations though, so I thought I'd do an acid rest for good measure. Here's my anticipated schedule:

Dough in at 95°F (30 min), acid rest
Step up to 131°F (30 min), protein rest
Decoct to 148°F (120 min), starch rest
Decoct to 162°F (15 min), mashout.

So... am I going about this right?

For the record, the recipe I've decided on is:

8.5 lb Pilsner
.5 lb Caramel Wheat
.5 lb CaraPils
.25 lb Biscuit

1oz Tett @60
1oz Hallertauer @60
1oz Saaz @25
1oz Saaz @5

WLP800, 5 liter, 2-day starter

OK. I'm finally going to brew my biscuit pilsner recipe this weekend, and I need some advice on the water profile.