Another General Yeast Cake Question!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HalfPint

Reaction score
Sorry in advance if this has already been answered, but I'm too lazy to look through countless threads.

I want to pour a chilled wort right on top of the yeast cake in my primary after I rack that one to the keg. I've never done this before and my concern is sanitizing.

Do I clean (sanitize) the bucket at all or do I just dump my wort in?

Thanks a lot,
J

I would recommend cleaning the primary and the yeast before reusing in the next batch. The junk left in the primary from the previous batch can give off flavours to the next beer. A technique I have used with success is as follows. rack the beer off the yeast and trub in the primary, then get yourself a litre of cold distilled water. Sanitize a smaller (1gallon) jug or something around that size and dump the yeast, trub and cold water in together with a funnel. Make sure everything is Sanitized. let this container chill in the fridge for about an hour and most of the junk will settle to the bottom. This is a similar process used when washing yeast for storage. After it has settled a while decant the yeast either into a smaller container (sanitized) before pitching or directly into the next beer.

I had some yeast and trub that I dumped into a 2 litre pop container about a month ago which I just rinsed and pitched it into 10 gallons of belgian blonde last week, it started fermenting about 6 hours later and smells great so far.