Your best "secret" techniques?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cweston

Reaction score
I'm still a beginner, so I haven't amassed much first-hand experience.

Here's a great tip that was passed on to me for bottling...

Use the dishwasher as a drying rack. The little things that stick up are perfect for holding a bottle inverted. I can fit about 35-40 bottles on the bottom rack, the rest on the top (but I can't close the top rack when I do that.)

Then use the open door of the dishwasher as a platform to fill bottles: put the beer on the counter and you've got the gravity you need to siphon or run it out a spigot in your priming bucket.

The bottles are right there where you need them, and any spillage is easily contained and cleaned up.

Others?

Use a wallpaper tray (see the pic below) from the hardware store to hold your racking cane, hoses, Auto-Spihon, airlocks, etc., and sanitizing solution when you are racking or bottling. Less solution to use and less waste.
104851_front200.jpg

Rhoobarb said:
Use a wallpaper tray (see the pic below) from the hardware store to hold your racking cane, hoses, Auto-Spihon, airlocks, etc., and sanitizing solution when you are racking or bottling. Less solution to use and less waste.
104851_front200.jpg

Brilliant! I've been using a shallow pan, but I can't get my thief submerged all the way. Plus, I have to use a lot of water/iodophor in it. I'm gonna pick one up!

In the warm weather, you can coil up a section of your garden hose in a bucket or cooler filled with ice water for a makeshift pre-chiller. Works well with either an immersion chiller or CFC.

- Brew two batches at once. One mess to clean up and less than 1 1/2 the time of doing a single batch.