Dunkelweizen

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loxnar

Reaction score
So i just got to drink my dunkelweizen...had never heard of this type of hef before but the guy at the LHBS said it was like a chocolate hef and i was like man that sounds pretty good. Now being that i have never tried a dunkelweizen before i dont know what flavor profile it should have. My first impression does have some nice chocolate flavors to it but my only beef about it is that is has a pretty citrus like after taste. I know some tannins can produce citrus like flavors but i am not sure if this after taste is suppossed to be present or not. It tastes pretty good just to me the after taste is really citrusy...the beer is also pretty green 2 weeks in primary and only a week in the keg.....ill post the recipe below if you guys could give me some feedback of what its flavor profile should be it would be much appreciate...ive brewed quite a few beers so far and this is the first one im questioning if i messed something up..

Dunkelweizen

Steeping Grains steeped at 160 for 30 minutes
1/2lb Caramunich
1/4lb Pale Chocolate
1/4lb Carafa Special II

Malt
6lb bavarain Wheat DME

Hops
1oz Vanguard bittering 60minutes

Whirlfoc at 20 minutes

recipe called for safbrew T-58 but i used White Labs Hef Ale WLP300

esimated OG is 1.050-1.052 and i hit 1.057
pitched yeast at 70 degrees with a 12 hour lagtime
final gravity was 1.014 which gives me an ABV% of 5.63 estimated ABV was 5-5.25
fermented in primary for 13 days at a constant 66-68