AAU calculations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scorpien222

Reaction score
How do I work out AAU per gallon ? If I want one gallon of 12% AAU and the hops I have are 12% how much would I put in for one gallon and if I was to double the volume to two gallon would I double the amount of hops ? Can you put the answer in the Simplest terms possible as I am new to brewing. Thank you for any help.

In addition to this I am in the UK so grams would be fantastic if possible :)

Your question is a little confusing, AAU's are not expressed as a percentage. AAU's are alpha acid units, where you take the AA % of a hop and multiply by ounces. So one ounce of 12% AA hops would be 12 AAU's, 2 ounces would be 24 AAU's. Some recipes call for AAU's, although more typically you see it expressed as an actual weight.

Recipes are scalable, so to convert a 5 gallon recipe to 1 gallon just divide all ingredients by 5.

Is that what you were wanting to know?

Yes that's around about it I am reading a recipe that is for 5 gallons and it tells you to add 12% AAU which would be 1 ounce if the hops I have have a measurement of 12% alfa acid ? Am I right so far ? So what would I do if I wanted to only make one gallon would I still just decide this by five ? I think what I am wanting to know is when it comes to Alfa Acid measurements is there a rule of thumb when it comes to measuring them out so if I am making only one gallon and designing my own recipe an wanted 12% AAU would I use one ounce of hops with a rating of 12% or would it be less due to the low volume of water ? If that makes more sense

scorpien222 said: