Hi! From Sunny California.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iHeartBeer

Reaction score
Howdy!

Well, I'm a total newbie. Long time beer lover. I've had the idea to brew my own beer for a very long time, over a year or two. I think people are tired of hearing me say "i'm going to brew my own beer on day". So I figured it's time to stop talking and start walking. I got a book(How to Brew) to give me some direction, but like always it best to have some experience to ask.

So my B-day(nov) is coming up and a gift to myself will be a beer making kit. I don't really see much difference in kits other then price. Any kits I should lean towards or stay away from?

Well I hope this is the place to be.

Alex

Welcome to HBT! Looks like our Cali section keeps growing! Where abouts in Cali?

I got a book(How to Brew) to give me some direction...

Awesome, I think this is the first time I've heard this! Good on ya! If I were you I'd go with a basic plastic bucket kit because I KNOW that it won't be long before you want to upgrade everything anyway, so might as well start small & basic before you go crazy.

Austin Homebrew Supply has some good kits at good prices, and the owner of the joint is an active member of this community so if you have any questions he'll be more than happy to help out.

Welcome! Where in CA are you from? I would make sure that the kit has a decent sized brew pot, most kits don't come with them.