Difference between all-grain brewing and extract brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MissionBrewer

Reaction score
Hi! I'm a beginner, never brewed before. I'm going to start brewing with extracts because that seems to be the usual advice, but I'm already thinking to the future and all-grain brewing. I was wondering: what are the differences (in process) between all grain and extract, and what is the special equipment that I hear people talking about that I would need to purchase in order to go all-grain? Is it really that expensive?

The biggest difference is making your own wort. Basically this is done by heating malted grains up to a specific temp with water. You would do this in what's called a mash tun. If you do a simple batch sparge or no sparge it will be fairly inexpensive. Doing a "Fly" sparge requires more parts and more attention. I built a mash tun for around $60 that I use for 5 gallon batches. You could also do a brew in a bag or BIAB. I haven;t done that but I don't think you need much more than a bag.

Another difference might be that you use a propane burner to heat the strike water and 6 or 7 gallons of wort.

Don't be afraid to start with all-grain it can appear to be more complicated or more expensive but it's not really. I started with AG but a few brewers I know that have been brewing for many years started with extract. With all the info that is available today, it's very easy to learn to brew either way. GL and welcome to brewing.

Buy a book. You'll get a huge amount of feedback from the net. Some of the suggested techniques can be questionable. I would advise you to try mini mashes and steeping before jumping staight to all grain.