Building a RIG From Scratch...looking for input.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bellinmi88

Reaction score
I am building an electric rig from scratch. I am only planning on incorporating a few components typically found in a RIMs or HERMs setup. I am looking for input on the wiring side as I have very little experience with this. I plan on consulting an electrician but would appreciate feedback from you folks before approaching one.

Here is a summary of what I would like to do:

I have just ordered one (1) Keggle that will include TIG welded sight glass and thermometer as well as a 3 piece ball valve. I would like to convert this to an electric keggle using the following element:Camco Mfg 5500W 240V Ripp Element. I will be using the Auber SYL 2352 PID Controller with RTD Temperature Probes along with an Auber SSR. I will also be incorporating two March H315HF Brew Pumps. One pump will supply my Counter Flow Chiller and the other will be for another vessel on the Rig. I'll get back to the in a moment.

The overall size of the Rig is 62" x 32". I would like to have one main power plug to supply the rig with all it's electrical needs. Which is to say it will need to power the Element, Two March H315HF pumps the PID, Probes and some LEDs. Once the Rig is plugged in I would like a main power switch (with LED) or kill switch incorporated. Then from there have the ability to power the element and each pump individually via their own switch (with LED).