Help with malt bomb

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patirck

Reaction score
I am gonig for a malt bomb and would like some critique of my recipe so far.

11 lb Munich Malt 36 3
8 oz. Cara-Pils/Dextrine 33 2
8 oz. Acidulated Malt 33 2
8 oz. Malto-Dextrin 43 6

60 mins 0.75 Hallertau Mittelfruh info pellet 3.9
30 mins 0.50 Hallertau Mittelfruh info pellet 3.9

Wyeast German Ale (1007)

I should end up with:
OG 1.059
IBU 15.3

The carapils is for head retention.
The Acidulated malt is for my high PH water (I'll also use some ph 5.2).
The Malto-Dextrin is for mouth feel.
I just took a stab at the yeast - I've never used this one before.

I would ditch the carapils and the malto dextrin, they wont add malty flavor. Don't worry about head retention and mouth feel as crystal malt and mash temp will have the same effect on head retention and mouth feel. Its just a matter of picking crystal malts to match the malty flavors and colors you want.

For color, I am going for something in the copper to amber range. I am new to creating recipies, but I thought crystal was pretty much for color.

As for head retention / mouth feel, what mash temp would you suggest to achieve this with a grist like this?

Drop all that acid malt. If you're new to recipes, you should hold off on water adjustment too.

If you want malty, use some MO and Munich. Throw in a 1-2 lbs of crystal. Go with a bittering addition only, there's no need to taste hops.

Also use a lower attenuating English ale yeast that will accentuate the maltiness and not dry the beer out too much.

Mash at 156 and be sure to mash out.