Setup design on standard dryer plug..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris7687

Reaction score
Hey guys,
Have the money saved up and looking to build my electrical brewing setup, but need some direction as I have limited knowledge of electrical "building". I am looking to do a 10 gallon batch setup off my current 220V dryer plug (?? Is this correct voltage??), as I currently rent and do want to leave a spa panel for someone when the time comes for me to move. Will this be enough power to supply a HLT, MT, and BK with the appropriate heating elements to make 10 gallon batches?? I tried researching this topic, as I feel it has had to come up in the past, but I had no luck. So if this is already out there, please post the links to the threads. Also, please post your builds if you have something similar to this.

- Chris

Do you know what the Amp rating is on the breaker supplying that outlet? Is that the only thing on that breaker (hopefully)? Any guess what wire size they ran to that outlet? Is the outlet 4 prong? A combination of these things will let you know if you're heading in the right direction to use the outlet for double duty.
-Kevin

Kevin - Thanks for the reply. I have an amperage meter at home. I'll test it tonight. I believe it is the only thing on the breaker. Not sure the size of the wire, I could take picture but not sure that would do any good. The outlet is an older 3 prong outlet.

Chris,