Liquid Sensor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kickrjason

Reaction score
I have looked around for some sort of sensor i can wire up to indicate liquid presence in a RIMS tube. I am trying to design a failsafe indicator to keep from dry firing the element. Has anyone looked into and or done this before?

Just throwing this out there , I have no experience with what you are looking for , but I have seen a floatless sump pump that used two liquid sensors to turn on and off. Maybe this will steer you in a direction you are looking for.

power sorce with and in line led and 2 leads in side the tube. water, wort, liquid conects the leads lighting the led.

I was thinking something food grade that could stand up to PBW. I want it to be a power up fail safe for the PID. Ie with a relay PID can't send a power signal to the element without a positive liquid reading in the tube.

I'd think detecting flow is safer, than level. Googles for liquid flow sensor. The industry I retired from used IFE brand flow sensors, they were a SS probe 1/4 dia. about 1/2" long with pipe threads for easy installation. The theory of operation was a thermistor in the tip of the probe that would cool slightly with fluid flowing and an adjustable detector circuit to set a minimum flow threshold based on the temp. drop. It was a 3-wire device in a pretty small package.