Backsweetening and Stabilization Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rager24

Reaction score
Hello,

First, Just want to say thanks for all the great informaiton that has been provided on this forums and to Yooper for an easy to follow Hard Lemonade Receipe (https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f79/hard-lemonade-68144/).

Currently in the process of making Yoopers Recipe (mentioned above) and just wanted to make sure I'm understanding the Backsweetening with Cane Sugar and Stabilization process of wines, beings I'm new to brewing, currently batting 1 good beer and 1 bad beer recipe, with Lemonade being #3. I followed the directions provided but double pitched the EC1118 as recomended in the thread, and racked to secondary (did not top off with water on account of lack of knowledge to prevent oxidation) on 5/31/12 and allowed to go flat (airlock activity stopped approx 6/10/12). I've been gone most the time since airlock activity stopped so its been able to sit for over a month. I'm anctiously waiting to bottle this and give it a try because the tasting during racking was very promissing :)

What I'm confused on with Stabilization, is do I rack from my current carboy into another container with Sorbate (1/2 tsp per gal) and crushed Campden (1 per gallon) at the bottem. Do I need to retrieve some of the Lemonade mix it with Sorbate and Campden and pour back into current carboy without racking? Just trying to figure out if I need to rack to my Bottling or Primary Bucket (6.5 gal) while clean my Carboy than put back into the Carboy with the Campden/Sorbate Mixture (assuming top off with water). After the Campden/Sorbate is added I allow the mixture to sit for 24hrs before backsweetening it.