Co2 tank Drained...beer flat

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Illinibrew

Reaction score
Hello Everybody,

I'm new to kegging and am having a tough time getting started. 2 days ago I hooked up a keg and put the Co2 at 10psi. I had primed the keg with sugar 10 days before that.

The first glass came out carbed and then I left it for the CO2 to do its thing. Got home yesterday night and the CO2 tank was empty and the beer was flat.

Any ideas of where I went wrong??

Illinibrew said:
Hello Everybody,

I'm new to kegging and am having a tough time getting started. 2 days ago I hooked up a keg and put the Co2 at 10psi. I had primed the keg with sugar 10 days before that.

The first glass came out carbed and then I left it for the CO2 to do its thing. Got home yesterday night and the CO2 tank was empty and the beer was flat.

Any ideas of where I went wrong??

It sounds like you have a leak somewhere in one of your lines, or from around the lid to the keg.

Did you put all new seals on everything (lid & poppets) before using the keg for the first time?

-walker

no. Could it hold pressure for a little bit and then leak due to a bad seal?

I didn't check it before work yesterday, but it did hold pressure monday night when I hooked it up and while i was checking through the evening.

I take it that I should replace the seals anytime I get a new keg. How long do they last for?

Illinibrew said:
no. Could it hold pressure for a little bit and then leak due to a bad seal?

I didn't check it before work yesterday, but it did hold pressure monday night when I hooked it up and while i was checking through the evening.

I take it that I should replace the seals anytime I get a new keg. How long do they last for?
EDIT (re-read the post to better answer):