Anyone actually oversparge?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

broadbill

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm a AG newbie (have a few AGs under my belt) but have been lurking here for awhile. In the many responses I've read to newbies who post Q's about their AG setup and procedure, there is always the caution: BE CAREFUL OF OVERSPARGING. However, I have yet to come across the post that starts: "Damn, I oversparged my beer! What can I do?"

Don't get me wrong...I can see how a newbie might be tempted to oversparge to get the last sweet drop out of their MT and to maximize their efficiency...but really, is it really that easy to oversparge? My gut feeling is "no" and that you are following general AG guidelines you will be no where close to oversparging, especially if you are batch sparging.

I don't mean to sound overly confrontational, but I'm wondering if this is a real concern for on the long list of things newbies need to worry about, or if its merely a concern because the brewing books tell us that it is.

My question: Has anyone actually oversparged their mash to the point it created off flavors in their beer?

Thanks!

Yes

My first AG...and I did have tannin extraction as a result. The beer mellowed a bit over time but even then it still had a tea bag/iced tea thing going on.

brewt00l said:
Yes

My first AG...and I did have tannin extraction as a result. The beer mellowed a bit over time but even then it still had a tea bag/iced tea thing going on.

Ok so: How did it happen? How did you fix it?