mango beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

homebrewmedic

Reaction score
Hi fellow brewers!
I'm new to the homebrewing but have a father who has brewed for 30 years so i was destined to brew myself.
I have lived in Broome, WA, where mangoes grow wild everywhere and since then have always been keen to brew a mango homebrew.
I have read some of the blogs on brewing mash style and adding the mangoes to the secondary but was wondering if anyone has ever tried to brew with a wheatbeer wurt from kit and added the mango pulp they speak of to the bootles? Once chillied it would be easy to poor the beer threw a fine collander into a glass to be enjoyed!
Is this possible?
I have also worked through my uni days at Matso's Broome Brewery when the great brewer Mal Securable was the head brewer and his mango beer which he inevitably disliked brewing due to the "stickyness of it" was AWSOME!
Their current brewer has carried on the tradition of brewing the mango beer due to demand and is currently working towards bottling this beer, if you havn't tried their monsoonal blonde or their alcoholic ginger beer these are also tasty drops on a hot summers day and are available in stubbies from any good bottleo, clancy's fishpub also does the mango beer on tap!

Would appreciate any advice! happy brewing!:mug:

The most recommended way to get a fruit flavor in the beer would be in secondary. I don't see how pouring a beer over a piece of fruit would be helpful. Maybe if you did something like a sangria, and put fruit pieces IN the beer you'd get some nice aroma. Maybe mash (not as in brewing mash, but as in squashing the fruit) some in the glass.