Confused by yeast - rehydrate or not?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

K-Dub

Reaction score
Hi all,

In doing my research it seems that most (including John Palmer) instruct to rehydrate the yeast, pour it into the fermenter and aerate and stir or shake. However, my kit instructions (which I know I should ignore) say to sprinkle the yeast packet on top, leave it and not to stir. I definitely want to stop using kits eventually but I'm taking baby steps and trying to learn as much as possible. Why the difference and which is the better method? Thanks.

i am a beginner as well, i am only on my third batch and i slop it in, i splash around and sprinkle and my beers so far have came out good, but i may be wrong, also i always thought air was good for yeast.

What people don't seem to realize is that sprinkling it on the surface of the wort and not stirring it for 15-30 minutes, is rehydrating, just on top of the wort as opposed to water. In fact on the fermentis website (safale/saflager yeasts) that is one of the iirc, 3 "recommended" options to do it...You stir (or I just rock the fermenter a bit-usually just carrying it from the kitchen to my brew closet) after the yeast has abosorbed the liquid....(reydrated)

all methods work, it really comes down to a matter of what works for you.

I usually pour a bit of boiling water into a cup and then top it up with cold water till it becomes warm, then sprinkle the yeast on top and leave it for 30 minutes before adding it to the fermenter.

If its just as easy for you to do both, I would say its better to rehydrate in H2O. Its an easier environment for the yeast to be dumped into.