bacterial contamination

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

broiltown

Reaction score
hello everyone. i have been making homebrew for the last 4 years, once a year. i always make ales and i always use premade packages. this time around i thought i would get creative and try to recreate a german kolsch that i had gotten for my first batch years ago in a premade package in a town i used to live in. i got home and cooked up the wort and once i got it into the carboy i realized i forgot the yeast! i drive to the store but they were out of kolsch yeast so they suggested i use a san francisco lager yeast instead. i got home and in the heat of the moment (no pun intended) i forgot to chill the wort and just pitched the yeast. after 3 days and no activity i called the homebrew store and they told me that lager yeast will be no good if pitched above 75 degrees. they tell me it will be fine and the next day i bought a package of coopers dry yeast and pitch it (this is 4 days after cooking wort). there was activity and the airlock was bubbling. now it has stopped bubbling but there is a ton of little white dots near the top of the carboy that look like bacteria. i know that contamination is a big no no. am i completely out of luck and should i dump the batch?

thanks, broiltown

Don't dump the batch.

Do you have a picture of it? 9999/10000 times those little white dots are from normal fermentation.

To early to know. Do you have hydrometer readings. You cant tell if its done or not without readings. Chances are that is just left over krausen.

this may sound stupid, but is it safe to remove the airlock to snap a quick photo?