Giving Barleywine a try

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big Duke Six

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to brewing and have had good luck doing all grain. I use ProMash to track and create recipes. I was hoping you guys could give your thoughts on this... i.e. will it come out all right? Second question...If a pull a recipe out of my rear-end, how bad can it be if you follow the BJCP standards and the ingredient amounts are reasonable?

My Barleywine (no name yet)

GRAINS
Pale Malt (2-row).................10 lbs
Crystal 40L...........................3 lbs
Cara-Pils Dextrine Malt.........10 lbs

Mash schedule: Single Infusion.... 155*F for 120 min. Sparge at 170*F

HOPS
Centennial............. 1.25 OZ.......60 min
Northern Brewer.... 1.25 OZ.......60 min
Cascade................. 0.5 OZ.........30 min
Goldings..................1.0 OZ.........0 min

Yeast.... WYeast, American Ale II, #1272

ProMash's thoughts...... Total IBU's 92.7 with an SG of 1.103. I'm assuming an efficiency of 65%

Also, any comments on aging would be welcomed.:mug:

You shouldn't need any dextrine malt. The huge grain bill is going to give it enough body, mouth feel, residual sweetness and all of that. I'd go just 20 lbs. of Pale Malt and the Crystal. Also, mash at a lower temperature. Mashing high will only increase the amount of unfermentable sugars adding to the above list. I'd mash at 150. What style are you making, American or English? If you're going American I'd also add more hops within the last 15 minutes and possibly dry hopping. Other than that the hop schedule looks fine.